Candidates For Mayor and City Council Announced

The City of Amarillo has announced the candidates running for mayor and all four city council places in May’s local elections.

The application and filing deadline for a place on the May 1 ballot was Friday, Feb. 12 at 5 p.m.

Michael Hunt
Carl Karas
Ginger Nelson (Incumbent)
Claudette Smith

Place 1:
Hobert “Gunny” Brown
Cole Stanley
Jason Tillery

Place 2:
Jason Fogelsong
Freda Powell (Incumbent)
Joe West

Place 3:
Eddie Sauer (Incumbent)
Tom Scherlen

Place 4:
Sharyn Delgado
Richard Herman
Ali Ramos
Howard Smith (Incumbent)

The last day to register to vote in the May 1 election is Thursday, April 1 with early voting beginning Monday, April 19.