WTAMU Faculty Members Awarded Promotions and Tenure

14 West Texas A&M University Faculty members were recognized for outstanding performances by being awarded tenure and promotions for the 2021-22 academic year.

8 faculty members awarded tenure and promotion to Associate Professor and 5 promotions in academic rank to Professor.

WT says promotion and tenures are a privilege reserved for faculty members who have demonstrated professional accomplishments in instructional responsibilities, intellectual contributions and service.

The faculty members recognized include:

Award of Tenure and Promotion to Rank of Associate Professor 

  • Dr. Fisseha Alemayehu, Mechanical Engineering 
  • Dr. Donna Byers, Biology 
  • Dr. Rahul Chauhan, Management 
  • Dr. Naruki Hiranuma, Environmental Science 
  • Dr. Eric Hoffmann, Economics 
  • Dr. Robert King, Marketing 
  • Dr. John Shanks, Music 
  • Dr. Jason Yarbrough, Chemistry 

Promotion to Professor

  • Dr. Brock Blaser, Plant Science 
  • Dr. Teri Bingham, Education 
  • Stephen Crandall, Theatre 
  • Dr. Emily Kinsky, Communication 
  • Dr. Amy Von Lintel, Art 
  • Dr. Barbara Wang, Finance 

Retiring employees include: 

  • Paul Engler College of Agriculture and Natural Sciences: Joel Babitzke, instructor of biology; Dr. Joseph Cepeda, professor of geology; and Dr. Bonnie Pendleton, professor of agriculture; 
  • Paul and Virginia Engler College of Business: Dr. Sharon Burnett, Edwards Professor of Accounting; Dr. Karyn Friske, professor of accounting and Schaeffer Professor of Business Ethics; Dr. Darlene Pulliam, professor of accounting and McCray Professor of Business; and Alice Upshaw, instructor of accounting; 
  • College of Engineering: H. Paul Haiduk, instructor of computer sciences; Kim Seward, instructor of mathematics; and Ken Starcher, instructor of engineering technology; 
  • College of Education and Social Sciences: Dr. Frank Goode, assistant professor of education; Dr. Harry Hueston, professor of criminal justice; and Dr. JoAnn Klinker, associate professor and director of the Ed.D. program; 
  • Sybil B. Harrington College of Fine Arts and Humanities: Royal Brantley, Regents professor and director of theatre; Dr. Trudy Hanson, professor of communication studies; Connie McKee, associate lecturer of communication studies and director of forensics; and Dr. Denise Parr-Scanlin, professor of music; and  
  • College of Nursing and Health Sciences: Vicki Hartin, instructor of nursing; and Tommy Sweat, director of Panhandle Area Health Education Center.

The Regents officially approved promotion and tenure at their May 20 meeting.